International Classifications

Ria Formosa Natural Park

The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance especially as Waterfowl Habitat is the first international treaty for the conservation and sustainable use of natural resources like wetlands. This convention was signed in 1971 at Ramsar, an Iranian town. The Convention’s mission is “the conservation and wise use of all wetlands through local and national actions and international cooperation, as a contribution towards achieving sustainable development throughout the world”.

BirdLife International
Important Bird Area
Important Bird and Biodiversity Areas

Important Bird and Biodiversity Areas (IBAs) are recognised worldwide as places of international significance for the conservation of birds and other biodiversity. IBA’s were developed by BirdLife International and the organization has, up to date, identified and documented more than 13,000 sites in over 200 countries and territories worldwide, not only in terrestrial and freshwater environments, but also in the marine environment. In Portugal there are 93 IBAs.

Natura 2000
Rede Natura 2000
Protected areas

Founded in 1992, Natura 2000 is a network of nature protection areas in the territory of the European Union. It is made up of Special Areas of Conservation (Habitats Directive), Sites of Community Importance (Habitats Directive) and Special Protection Areas (Birds Directive). The network includes both terrestrial and Marine Protected Areas.

Know more about the “Algarvian Queen

%d bloggers like this: